Help Guide

Tasks

  • You can create a task by using the input bar in any of the pages.

    Try typing "due tomorrow" or "due 10/19" after the task name to auto assign it a due date.

    Adding "at 4PM" or "at 1 tomorrow" will schedule a block of time to work on the task as well.

    Lastly, typing the name of the list will automatically create a task in that list:

    [List Name] [Task Name] [time name] [due date] Design Task at 4pm due tomorrow.
  • You can also assign a due date to a task by clicking on the calendar icon on the right hand side of the task.
  • Drag a task to the desired list on the left-hand side to move it to that list!
  • You can sort a task within the list views just by dragging and dropping them around. You can also use the sort button at the top right to sort by Due Date, whether or not the task has been scheduled, and custom (which is the default)
  • Click on a task to collapse it. You will now see an area where you can add free form notes and also sub tasks. Simply type a dash "-" (without the quotes) and the sub-task name, and press enter. Add as many as you want, and pick one or more to work on during your scheduled time!
  • After sharing a list (see below) you can click on the plus button in the right hand side of any task in the list view to assign it to a teammate!
  • You can find completed task in the list views, near the bottom of the page. Press "Completed Tasks" and you'll see all the amazing things you've done!

Meetings

  • You can create a meeting in 2 ways:
    1. Type the name of your meeting in the Day View "Add a Task" Bar, and then press the circle on the left.
    2. Click anywhere on the calendar interface and enter more detailed information.
  • Add the name of the list to the name of the meeting, and it'll appear in the list view.
  • To sync your scheduled time to work on tasks back to Google Calendar, click on the red square with your initials in the upper right hand side of the app.
    In the menu that appears, press "Preferences", and then the "Notifications" tab. Here, you'll see an option to "Sync Tasks to Calendar". Once enabled, you will see a newly created calendar, "Plan: Tasks" in your Google Calendar, where you can see all of the time you've blocked off in Plan.

Lists

  • Create a list by pressing the plus icon in the list sidebar. Simply type the name and press enter, and you'll see the list appear.
  • To select the color or other properties of a list, hover over a list in the sidebar, and press the pencil icon that appears. You can rename the list, pick a new color, and make it a shared list all from here!
  • To delete a list, hover over a list in the sidebar, and press the pencil icon that appears. Then, you'll see a trash icon on the bottom lefthand side of the popover that appears. Note: you cannot delete your default list!
  • To share a list, first ensure you have created a team by following the instructions below. Then, hover over a list in the sidebar, and press the pencil icon that appears. Now you can check the "Shared List" option that appears, and invite any of your teammates to collaborate on that list with you. Type their names in the search box that appears in the same menu.
  • You can change which list tasks go to by default. In the upper right hand corner of the page, press the red square with your initials. Then press "Preferences", and under the "Tasks" section of the popover, select your desired Default List.

Projects

  • A list can have any number of projects, which can be used to define things like sprints (Agile), focus areas, and other categories.
  • To create a new project, go to a list page. In the upper right hand side, next to the List Name you'll see a button that says "0/0 Projects". Click on that, and then click on the "Add Project" menu item.
  • To rename a project or to set a due date, simply hover over a project name in the list view, and press the pencil icon that appears. To set a due date, press the "+Due" button in the same place.
  • To show or hide a project, click on the "Projects" button to the right of the list name. Click on the ones you wish to see in the list view, and deselect the ones you don't!
  • To reorder projects within a list, click the "Projects" button to the right of the list name. Within the menu that appears, drag and drop the projects until you have your desired ordering!
  • To archive a project, go to the project in the list view, and press the milestone icon to the left of the project name. In the menu that appears, press "Archive". You can only archive a project if all the tasks are completed in the project.
  • To delete a project, go to the project in the list view, and press the milestone icon to the left of the project name. In the menu that appears, press "Delete". This will delete the project, and move any of its tasks to no project.
  • To switch to Kanban view:
    1. Select a list
    2. Click on the Kanban icon next to the top left corner of the calendar. To switch back, just click the same button again.

Teams

  • To create a team, press the red square with your initials in the upper right hand side of the app. Next, press "Create a Team", and enter your desired team name and domain. Finally, invite people (both Plan users and non Plan Users) to your via their emails!
  • To share a list, first ensure you have created a team by following the instructions below. Then, hover over a list in the sidebar, and press the pencil icon that appears. Now you can check the "Shared List" option that appears, and invite any of your teammates to collaborate on that list with you. Type their names in the search box that appears in the same menu.
  • To assign a task to a teammate, open the shared list. When creating a task, you'll see a gray plus icon to the right of the input box. You can select the teammate here. You can also assign it after you've created a task, by clicking the same icon on the already created task.

Misc

  • To link other Google accounts with your primary Plan account, click on the red square with your initials in the upper right hand side of the app. In the menu that appears, press "Add Account", and you'll be redirected to Google to link another account. This will pull in all calendars and contacts associated with that Google account into Plan
  • To see all the keyboard shortcuts, just press "Shift + ?" and all your questions will be answered :)
  • We're hard at work on an Android App, to be kept up to date on Android App Developments, let us know
  • To solve most syncing issues:
    1. Log out and log back in
    2. Disable and Reenable the "Sync Tasks to Calendar" option in the Preferences menu if you are experiencing syncing issues with your tasks to Google Calendar. Careful, as this will delete the existing "Plan: Tasks" Calendar in Google Calendar (but all your Plan data will remain in tact)